MINUTES of **SPECIAL** Meeting #2021-21 of the Council of the City of Whitehorse called for 5:30 p.m. on Monday, November 1, 2021, in Council Chambers, City Hall.

PRESENT: Mayor Laura Cabott

Councillors Dan Boyd

Kirk Cameron Jocelyn Curteanu Michelle Friesen Ted Laking Mellisa Murray

ALSO PRESENT: Acting City Manager Jeff O'Farrell

Manager of Bylaw Services Doug Spencer

Fire Chief Jason Everitt

Manager of Legislative Services Wendy Donnithorne

Manager of Strategic Communications Myles Dolphin

Technical Support Specialist Charles Young

GUESTS: The Honourable Suzanne Duncan – Supreme Court Chief Justice

The Honourable Pat Duncan, Senator

The Honourable Angelique Bernard – Commissioner of Yukon Grand Chief Peter Johnston – Council of Yukon First Nations

Chief Amanda Leas - Ta'an Kwäch'än Council

Dr. Brendan Hanley – M. P.

The Honourable Tracy McPhee - Deputy Premier

The Honourable Richard Mostyn – Minister of Community Services

Elder Councillor Judy Gingell - Kwanlin Dün First Nation

Diane Smith – Kwanlin Dün First Nation

Councillor Ray Sydney - Kwanlin Dün First Nation

Sean Smith – Kwanlin Dün First Nation Whitehorse Fire Department Honour Guard

The meeting was called to order at 5:30 p.m.

CALL TO ORDER

The Manager of Legislative Services introduced the newly elected Mayor and members of the 2021 to 2024 municipal council

INTRODUCTIONS

The Honourable Suzanne Duncan, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Yukon, conducted the swearing-in ceremonies:

• The Mayor and each Councillor individually took the Oath of Office and then simultaneously cited the Oath of Allegiance and the Oath of Athens.

SWEARING IN CEREMONIES

• Each member of Council signed their official documents and the Chief Justice presented the Mayor with the Chain of Office.

Mayor Cabott thanked past councils for their service and welcomed new and returning council members. She identified some of the challenges and opportunities awaiting this council during their first term of office.

MAYOR'S REMARKS

2021-21-01

It was duly moved and seconded

THAT Deputy Mayor appointments for the first year of this council's term of office be approved as follows:

Councillor Mellisa Murray
Councillor Dan Boyd
Councillor Kirk Cameron
Councillor Ted Laking
Councillor Michelle Friesen
Councillor Jocelyn Curteanu

November 1 to December 31, 2021 January 1 to February 28, 2022 March 1 to April 30, 2022 May 1 to June 30, 2022 July 1 to August 31, 2022 September 1 to October 31, 2022

DEPUTY MAYOR APPOINTMENTS

Carried Unanimously

2021-21-02

It was duly moved and seconded

THAT Reserve Deputy Mayor appointments be approved as follows:

RESERVE DEPUTY MAYOR APPOINTMENTS

Councillor Jocelyn Curteanu Councillor Kirk Cameron November 1, 2021 to April 30, 2022

May 1 to October 31, 2022

Carried Unanimously

2021-21-03

It was duly moved and seconded

THAT Chair and Vice-Chair appointments for Standing Committees for the period of November 1, 2021 to October 31, 2022 be approved as follows:

Committee	Chair	Vice-Chair	STANDING
Corporate Services City Planning Development Services City Operations Community Services Public Health and Safety	Councillor Friesen Councillor Boyd Councillor Curteanu Councillor Laking Councillor Murray Councillor Cameron	Councillor Cameron Councillor Laking Councillor Murray Councillor Boyd Councillor Friesen Councillor Curteanu	COMMITTEE CHAIR AND VICE-CHAIR APPOINTMENTS
		Carried Unanimously	

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 6:10 p.m.

ADJOURNMENT

aura Cabott, Mayor

Norma L. Felker, Assistant City Clerk

Wilker

ADOPTED by resolution at meeting #2021-22 dated November 15, 2021