Land Acknowledgment

The City of Whitehorse acknowledges that it is situated on the traditional territories of the Ta’an Kwäch’än Council and the Kwanlin Dün First Nation, as defined in the 2002 Ta’an Kwäch’än Council Final and Self-Governing Agreements and the 2005 Kwanlin Dün First Nation Final and Self-Governing Agreements.

We acknowledge that the Ta’an Kwäch’än Council and the Kwanlin Dün First Nation understand their history in what is now Whitehorse since time immemorial and that the two Nations have had, and continue to have, a spiritual, cultural, and economic connection to the land and resources of this area. We acknowledge that these governments and their citizens contribute significantly to city’s social, cultural, spiritual, and economic prosperity. The City of Whitehorse has committed to strengthening its relationships with Kwanlin Dün First Nation and the Ta’an Kwäch’än Council through the 2018 Declaration of Commitment.


Upcoming Meetings